Airport Authority


The Helena Regional Airport was established at its current location in 1928 and was governed by a City-County Board. In 1993, through a Joint Resolution of the City of Helena and Lewis & Clark County, the Helena Regional Airport Authority was formed to operate as a financially self-sufficient entity without the funding assistance of the City, County, or local taxpayers. Since the creation of the Airport Authority, the entity has not received any local taxes in the form of mils. The Airport Authority consists of a seven-member commission; members are appointed by the City and County Commissions.

Helena Regional Airport Authority

Chair (2021-2022):  Mike Murray City Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2023
Vice Chair: Tom McGree City Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2024
Secretary: Mike Muscarelli County Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2024
Immediate Past Chair (2020-2021): Dave Simkins County Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2022
Commissioner: Debbie Havens County Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2023
Commissioner:   Bob Heberly City Appointment Term expires: 9/1/2022
Commissioner: Bill Burkland Joint City-County Appointment Term Expires: 9/1/2024

Upcoming Airport Authority Meeting Dates – Meetings Take Place in the Airport Board Room 2nd Floor of the Terminal Unless Listed Otherwise

  • November 23, 2021 (4th Tuesday)
  • December 21, 2021
  • January 18, 2022
  • February 15, 2022
  • March 15, 2022
  • April 19, 2022
  • May 17, 2022

*Airport Authority Meetings are typically held the third Tuesday of each month at 11:30 am in the Airport Boardroom, 2850 Mercer Loop, Helena, Montana.  Changes in time or location will be posted.

Airport Authority Meeting Minutes